Talking to the Moon

Pondering the thoughts
Of yesterday’s time.
The wind blowing around
The thoughts in mind of
Where in this place we are.
Somewhere on Lovers Lane
That love I held strong in
My soul for you has become displaced.
And thus I sit here
Talking to the moon
Trying to find where it is
I lost my way.

There is no doubt
In these feelings I feel
That I do still love you from
The bottom of my heart,
But when my eyes envision your face
From a distance when you are not here,
I don’t see the same man I loved
When we first walked down
Flower paved roads.
And thus I sit here
Talking to the moon,
Trying to find where it is
We go from here.

I will never ask you
If your love for me has changed.
I am not accustom to the words
Fear and rejection for they
Hold me captive to my own misery.
You once gave me
What the world could never give me,
Your undying love and devotion,
Your affection that grounded me
And made me whole,
Your warm embrace that protected me,
Your tender kiss that soothed me,
Erasing my troubles for just that moment.
I never feared loneliness because
You were always there,
Your songs of faith and devotion
Sheltered me from those who
Never cared for me.

We were one in the eyes of those
Who would see us.
Our laughter filled the air
Soaring on the tail end of the wind.
My heart used to skip a beat
Whenever you weren’t around,
And I slept sleepness nights
If you weren’t at my side.
That was when you and I were one.
When love was something we had
To hold on to.
And thus I sit here
Talking to the moon
Fighting back the tears,
Regretting the days that have
Pushed us a part.

If in a day,
You want to blame me for the missteps
Our love has taken.
Let me lay down my pride and selfishness,
And take the beatings your words
Shall give me.
The harshness only you know how
To inflict on a woman’s soul.
If in this time your forgiveness
Goes unfounded,
Then let me go into a world of the unknown
Where I will not back track to find you,
Only to keep moving forward
Into happiness bliss
To find where it is I truly belong.
Just don’t keep me here
To remind you of those things you’ve lost
Because if you open your eyes
You are a reminder of the things I’ve lost 
That time can never replace.

And as I sit here
Talking to the moon,
I can only make one simple wish
To ask if in this lifetime it is not
Meant for you and I to share in
What we’ve wanted for so long,
That we equally set each other free
To go into our own
Corners of different worlds
To be where it is we truly want to be,
To do what it is that makes us whole,
To not drag out a togetherness
Built on false pretenses.

From the book “Imperfections: Of Life’s Divine”
February 26, 2013

Leave a Reply

